If you are making a special journey to see or be hauled by a specific locomotive please check to avoid disappointment. This list only relates to diesel workings. A list of ELR events is shown futher down the page but please see the ELR Website for the full running schedule.

PDF working timetables available including arrival and departure times along with headcodes, simply click on 'Blue Timetable', 'Yellow Timetable' etc to view or save.

Date Loco(s) Notes
Wednesday 27th August 117 DMU Orange Timetable
Thursday 28th August 117 DMU Orange Timetable
Friday 29th August 117 DMU Orange Timetable
Saturday 30th August D1501 Yellow Timetable (Was 33109)
Sunday 31st August 33109 Blue Timetable
(Friday 5th September D9009 Driver Experience)
Saturday 6th September D9009 Yellow Timetable (Was D335)
Sunday 7th September D9009 Blue Timetable (Was D335)
(Friday 12th September D7076 Driver Experience)
Saturday 13th September D7076 Yellow Timetable
Sunday 14th September D7076 Blue Timetable
* to be confirmed subject to availability.

Driver Experience and special trains
Shown in brackets and/or italic text. These trains are included for information only, it is not possible to travel on these unless you are a participant, invited guest or ticket holder for that service. See the Driver Experience page for more about booking a course yourself!

All advertised workings are subject to availability
While every effort will be made to ensure the rostered locos or units are available and running to the advertised timetable, the ELR reserves the right to cancel or terminate any service or use alternative motive power without prior notice.


Details of all services are available at the East Lancashire Railway Website
ELR Gradient Profile
The East Lancashire Railway has some substantial gradients, the PDF Gradient Profile document details these and mileage info. Click the image below to view or download.

Learn more about the ELR route and operations at the About The Line page.


ELRPS Membership includes discounted travel, well worth a look if you're a frequent visitor, especially for standard weekend running days. Click the logo above for details.
Saturday Evening, 27th of September 2014 Diesel Diner with D7076
Saturday 27th & Sunday 28th September 2014 Autumn Diesel Gala
Friday Evening, 7th of November 2014 Diesel Diner with D9009
Saturday 8th November 2014 Diesel Theme Day

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and some Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services throughout the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Transport Collectors Fair and Vintage Transport Gathering Saturday 13th & Sunday 14th September
Diesel Diner with D7076 Saturday Evening, 27th of September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 27th & Sunday 28th September
Day out with Thomas Saturday 4th & Sunday 5th October
East Coast Theme Day Sunday 12th October
Autumn Steam Gala Saturday 18th & Sunday 19th October
Halloween Ghost Trains Thursday 30th October to Saturday 1st November
Diesel Diner with D9009 Friday Evening, 7th of November
Diesel Theme Day Saturday 8th November
Santa Special Trains Saturday 29th November to Wednesday 24th December


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!