If you are making a special journey to see or be hauled by a specific locomotive please check to avoid disappointment. This roster only relates to diesel workings. A list of ELR events is shown further down the page. See the ELR Website for the full running schedule.

PDF working timetables available including arrival and departure times along with headcodes, simply click on 'Blue Timetable', 'Yellow Timetable' etc to view or save.

Date Loco(s) Notes
(Friday 29th April D335 Driver Experience)
Saturday 30th April to
Monday 2nd May
D335
DMU
Shunter
Days Out with Thomas
Shunter on Troublesome Trucks at Ramsbottom, not available for travel
Saturday 7th May D9531 Blue Timetable
Sunday 8th May D9537 Blue Timetable
Saturday 14th May D7076 Blue Timetable
Sunday 15th May D7076 Blue Timetable
Saturday 21st May 37109 Blue Timetable (Was D335)
Sunday 22nd May D335 Blue Timetable
(Thursday 26th May 31466 Driver Experience)
Saturday 28th to
Monday 30th May
----- 1940s Weekend
( TBC - to be confirmed )

Driver Experience and special trains
Shown in brackets and/or italic text. These trains are included for information only, it is not possible to travel on these unless you are a participant, invited guest or ticket holder for that service. See the Driver Experience page for more about booking a course yourself!

All advertised workings are subject to availability
While every effort will be made to ensure the rostered locos or units are available and running to the advertised timetable, the ELR reserves the right to cancel or terminate any service or use alternative motive power without prior notice.


Details of all services are available at the East Lancashire Railway Website
ELR Gradient Profile
The East Lancashire Railway has some substantial gradients, the PDF Gradient Profile document details these and mileage info. Click the image below to view or download.

Learn more about the ELR route and operations at the About The Line page.


ELRPS Membership includes discounted travel, well worth a look if you're a frequent visitor, especially for standard weekend running days. Click the logo above for details.
Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th July Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday 24th and Sunday 25th September Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 5th November DMU Theme Day

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and some Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 30th April to Monday 2nd May
1940s Weekend Saturday 28th to Monday 30th May
Summer Diesel Gala Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th July
Raise The Roof - Live Music Friday 15th, Saturday 16th and Sunday 17th July
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th August
Peppa Pig and George Saturday 27th to Monday 29th August
Vintage Transport Gathering Sunday 18th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 24th and Sunday 25th September
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 1st and Sunday 2nd October
Autumn Steam Gala Friday 14th to Sunday 16th October
Hallowe'en Ghost Trains Thursday 27th to Saturday 29th October
DMU Theme Day Saturday 5th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!