× Home Events Loco Roster Fleet Info Driver Experience Route Info Visitor Info Volunteering Contact

ELR Website

Loco Roster

If you are making a special journey to see or be hauled by a specific locomotive please check to avoid disappointment. This roster only relates to diesel workings. A list of ELR events is shown further down the page. See the ELR Website for the full running schedule.

Day Rover tickets are available along with ATOC and HRA fares. Discounts are generally available for pre-booked tickets.

Whilst Covid-19 restrictions have been lifted, the ELR encourage passengers observe sensible social distancing precautions. See the ELR Website for the latest details.

Date Loco(s) Notes
Wednesday 4th August 105 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket (Was 104 DMU)
Thursday 5th August 105 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket (Was 104 DMU)
Friday 6th August 105 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket (Was 104 DMU)
Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th August D5054
104/122 DMU
Days Out with Thomas
Wednesday 11th August 105 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
60009 Farewells
Thursday 12th August 105 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
60009 Farewells
Friday 13th August 105 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
60009 Farewells
Saturday 14th August 45108 Blue Timetable Rover Ticket
60009 Farewells
Sunday 15th August 47765 Blue Timetable Rover Ticket
60009 Farewells
Wednesday 18th August 104 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
Thursday 19th August 104 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
Friday 20th August 104 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
Saturday 21st August 33109 Blue Timetable Rover Ticket
Sunday 22nd August 25279 Blue Timetable Rover Ticket
Wednesday 25th August 105 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
Thursday 26th August 105 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
Friday 27th August 105 DMU Orange Timetable Rover Ticket
Saturday 28th August 104/122 DMU Blue Timetable Rover Ticket
Sunday 29th August 104/122 DMU Flying Scotsman Returns
Monday 30th August 104/122 DMU Flying Scotsman Returns
( TBC - to be confirmed )

Driver Experience and special trains
Shown in brackets and/or italic text. These trains are included for information only, it is not possible to travel on these unless you are a participant, invited guest or ticket holder for that service. See the ELR Website for more about Driver Experience courses.

All workings subject to availability
While every effort will be made to ensure the rostered locos or units are available and running to the advertised timetable, the ELR reserves the right to cancel or terminate any service or use alternative motive power without prior notice.

Diesel Events

See the ELR Website for the full running schedule and travel instructions.

Event Date(s)
Autumn Diesel Event Friday 17th and
Saturday 18th September
DMU Weekend Saturday 13th and
Sunday 14th November
ELR Website
Details of all services are available at the ELR Website
ELR Gradient Profile
The East Lancashire Railway has some substantial gradients, the PDF Gradient Profile document details these and mileage info. Click the image below to view or download.

Learn more about the ELR route and operations at the About The Line page.

ELR Events

There are a wide range of events at the East Lancashire Railway ranging from Family and Education, Re-enactments, Sci-Fi, Transport and Collector's Fairs.

Selected events are shown below. See the ELR Website for the full event schedule.

Event Date(s)
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 7th and
Sunday 8th August
Union of South Africa Farewells Wednesday 11th to
Sunday 15th August
Flying Scotsman Returns Sunday 29th and
Monday 30th August
Union of South Africa Farewells Wednesday 1st and
Thursday 2nd September
Flying Scotsman Returns Friday 3rd, Saturday 4th and
Sunday 5th September
Autumn Diesel Event Friday 17th and
Saturday 18th September
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 2nd and
Sunday 3rd October
Autumn Steam Gala Friday 15th, Saturday 16th and
Sunday 17th October
Halloween Ghost Trains Thursday 28th, Friday 29th and
Saturday 30th October
DMU Weekend Saturday 13th and
Sunday 14th November

Covid Safety
Social Distancing measures are in force at the ELR. It is very important to us that we keep both visitors and volunteers safe. Advertised events will be subject to the latest Government guidance and lockdown restrictions. See the ELR Website for guidance on travel requirements and precautions.

All events subject to availability
While every effort will be made to ensure events take place as advertised, rostered locos or units are available and running to the advertised timetable, the ELR reserves the right to cancel or terminate without prior notice.

ELR Website
Check out the ELR Website for the full event schedule.
The East Lancashire Railway Preservation Society was formed in 1966 and has always been a driving force behind everything we have achieved. Why not become a member and help support the ELRPS, click to find out more.
ELR Contacts

Telephone: 0333 320 2830
Address: East Lancashire Railway
Bolton Street Station
Bolton Street
Bury, BL9 0EY

www.elrps.co.uk
www.eastlancsrailway.org.uk
ELR on Twitter ELR on Facebook ELR on Instagram