If you are making a special journey to see or be hauled by a specific locomotive please check to avoid disappointment. This list only relates to diesel workings. A list of ELR events is shown further down the page but please see the ELR Website for the full running schedule.

PDF working timetables available including arrival and departure times along with headcodes, simply click on 'Blue Timetable', 'Yellow Timetable' etc to view or save.

Date Loco(s) Notes
Saturday 28th February 33109 Blue Timetable 2015
Sunday 1st March 33109 Blue Timetable 2015
(Friday 6th March D7076 Driver Experience)
Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th of March Various Spring Diesel Gala Weekend
Saturday 14th March DMU x 3, D2062, 345 Diesel Multiple Unit Theme Day
Sunday 15th March 31466 Blue Timetable 2015
Saturday 21st March D9531/37*
(345)
Blue Timetable 2015, *Top/Tail with 31466 if cold
(Driver Experience)
Sunday 22nd March 37418 Blue Timetable 2015
Saturday 28th March 31466 Blue Timetable 2015
Sunday 29th March 31466 Blue Timetable 2015
Friday 3rd April 50015 Yellow Timetable 2015
Saturday 4th April 50015 Yellow Timetable 2015
Sunday 5th April 50015 Blue Timetable 2015
Monday 6th April 50015 Yellow Timetable 2015
Tuesday 7th April DMU Orange Timetable 2015
Wednesday 8th April DMU Orange Timetable 2015
Thursday 9th April DMU Orange Timetable 2015
Friday 10th April DMU Orange Timetable 2015
Saturday 11th April TBC Blue Timetable 2015
Sunday 12th April TBC Blue Timetable 2015
Wednesday 15th April DMU Orange Timetable 2015
Thursday 16th April DMU Orange Timetable 2015
Friday 17th April DMU Orange Timetable 2015
Saturday 18th and Sunday 19th April Steam and Diesel Traction Small Engines Weekend featuring Diesel Classes 03, 08, 09 and 14. More details at the ELR Website
(Friday 24th April 50015 Driver Experience)
Saturday 25th April 37109 Blue Timetable 2015
Sunday 26th April 37109 Blue Timetable 2015
Saturday the 2nd to
Monday the 4th May
Class 40
DMU
(D2062)
Days Out with Thomas, D335 or 345 TBC
D2062 Ramsbottom Troublesome Trucks not available for haulage
( TBC - to be confirmed )

Driver Experience and special trains
Shown in brackets and/or italic text. These trains are included for information only, it is not possible to travel on these unless you are a participant, invited guest or ticket holder for that service. See the Driver Experience page for more about booking a course yourself!

All advertised workings are subject to availability
While every effort will be made to ensure the rostered locos or units are available and running to the advertised timetable, the ELR reserves the right to cancel or terminate any service or use alternative motive power without prior notice.


Details of all services are available at the East Lancashire Railway Website
ELR Gradient Profile
The East Lancashire Railway has some substantial gradients, the PDF Gradient Profile document details these and mileage info. Click the image below to view or download.

Learn more about the ELR route and operations at the About The Line page.


ELRPS Membership includes discounted travel, well worth a look if you're a frequent visitor, especially for standard weekend running days. Click the logo above for details.
Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th March Spring Diesel Gala
Saturday Evening 7th March Diesel Diner
Saturday 14th March DMU Theme Day
Saturday 18th and Sunday 19th April Small Engines Weekend
Friday Evening 3rd July Diesel Diner
Friday 3rd to Sunday 5th July Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday Evening 26th September Diesel Diner
Saturday 26th and Sunday 27th September Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 7th November Diesel Theme Day

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and some Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Steam Weekend and Transport Collectors Fair Saturday 21st and Sunday 22nd February
Spring Diesel Gala Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th March
Diesel Diner Saturday Evening 7th March
DMU Theme Day Saturday 14th March
Local Resident's Weekend Saturday 21st and Sunday 22nd March
Ramsbottom Chocolate Festival Saturday 28th and Sunday 29th March
Classic Bike Rally Saturday 4th April
Easter Bonnet Day Sunday 5th April
Small Engines Weekend Saturday 18th and Sunday 19th April
Day out with Thomas Saturday 2nd to Monday 4th May
1940s Weekend Saturday 23rd to Monday 25th May
Diesel Diner Friday Evening 3rd July
Summer Diesel Gala Friday 3rd to Sunday 5th July
Raise the Roof (Live Music) Friday 17th and Saturday 18th July
Day out with Thomas Saturday 1st and Sunday 2nd August
Teddy Bears Party Monday 31st August
Vintage Transport Gathering and Collectors Fair Saturday 12th and Sunday 13th September
Diesel Diner Saturday Evening 26th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 26th and Sunday 27th September
Day out with Thomas Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th October
Autumn Steam Gala Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th October
Hallowe'en Ghost Trains Thursday 29th to Saturday 31st October
Diesel Theme Day Saturday 7th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!