If you are making a special journey to see or be hauled by a specific locomotive please check to avoid disappointment. This list only relates to diesel workings. A list of ELR events is shown further down the page but please see the ELR Website for the full running schedule.

PDF working timetables available including arrival and departure times along with headcodes, simply click on 'Blue Timetable', 'Yellow Timetable' etc to view or save.

Date Loco(s) Notes
Wednesday 29th July W55001 Orange Timetable
Thursday 30th July W55001 Orange Timetable
Friday 31st July W55001 Orange Timetable
Saturday the 1st and
Sunday the 2nd August
31466 D9531/37 DMU (08/09) Days Out with Thomas
D9531/37 Top and Tail Heywood Shuttles
(08/09 Ramsbottom Troublesome Trucks not available for haulage). 31466 replaces 37418
Wednesday 5th August W55001 Orange Timetable
Thursday 6th August W55001 Orange Timetable
Friday 7th August W55001 Orange Timetable
Saturday 8th August 73001 D9537 Yellow Timetable
Sunday 9th August 73001 D9537 Blue Timetable
Wednesday 12th August 117 DMU Orange Timetable
Thursday 13th August 117 DMU Orange Timetable
Friday 14th August 117 DMU Orange Timetable
Saturday 15th August 33109 Yellow Timetable
Sunday 16th August 33109 Blue Timetable
Wednesday 19th August 117 DMU Orange Timetable
Thursday 20th August 117 DMU Orange Timetable
Friday 21st August 117 DMU Orange Timetable
Saturday 22nd August D7076 Yellow Timetable
Sunday 23rd August D9531/37 Blue Timetable
Wednesday 26th August 117 DMU Orange Timetable
Thursday 27th August 117 DMU Orange Timetable
Friday 28th August 117 DMU Orange Timetable
Saturday 29th August TBC Peppa Pig and George Fun Weekend
Sunday 30th August TBC Peppa Pig and George Fun Weekend
Monday 31st August TBC Peppa Pig and George Fun Weekend
( TBC - to be confirmed )

Driver Experience and special trains
Shown in brackets and/or italic text. These trains are included for information only, it is not possible to travel on these unless you are a participant, invited guest or ticket holder for that service. See the Driver Experience page for more about booking a course yourself!

All advertised workings are subject to availability
While every effort will be made to ensure the rostered locos or units are available and running to the advertised timetable, the ELR reserves the right to cancel or terminate any service or use alternative motive power without prior notice.


Details of all services are available at the East Lancashire Railway Website
ELR Gradient Profile
The East Lancashire Railway has some substantial gradients, the PDF Gradient Profile document details these and mileage info. Click the image below to view or download.

Learn more about the ELR route and operations at the About The Line page.


ELRPS Membership includes discounted travel, well worth a look if you're a frequent visitor, especially for standard weekend running days. Click the logo above for details.
Saturday 26th and Sunday 27th September Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 7th November Diesel Theme Day

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and some Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Day out with Thomas Saturday 1st and Sunday 2nd August
Peppa Pig and George Saturday 29th to Sunday 31st August
Rossendale 60s Festival Friday 11th to Sunday 13th September
Vintage Transport Gathering and Collectors Fair Saturday 12th and Sunday 13th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 26th and Sunday 27th September
Day out with Thomas Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th October
Autumn Steam Gala Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th October
Hallowe'en Ghost Trains Thursday 29th to Saturday 31st October
Diesel Theme Day Saturday 7th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 21st and Sunday 22nd November
Santa Special Trains Saturday 28th November to Thursday 24th December
Mince Pie Specials Saturday 26th and Monday 28th December


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!