If you are making a special journey to see or be hauled by a specific locomotive please check to avoid disappointment. This list only relates to diesel workings. A list of ELR events is shown further down the page but please see the ELR Website for the full running schedule.

PDF working timetables available including arrival and departure times along with headcodes, simply click on 'Blue Timetable', 'Yellow Timetable' etc to view or save.

Date Loco(s) Notes
Saturday 25th October 33109 Blue Timetable
Sunday 26th October DMU Blue Timetable
Thursday 30th and Friday 31st October (Evening) 31466
50015
Evening Halloween Specials see the ELR website for booking details
Saturday 1st November DMU Blue Timetable
Saturday 1st November
(Evening)
31466
50015
Evening Halloween Specials see the ELR website for booking details
Sunday 2nd November DMU Blue Timetable
(Friday 7th November D9009 Driver Experience)
Saturday 8th November Various Eastern Region Theme Day
including Special Guest, Deltic 55019
Sunday 9th November DMU Blue Timetable
Saturday 15th November *37418
345
Blue Timetable
345 top and tail AM only for the CFPS AGM
Sunday 16th November DMU Blue Timetable
Saturday 22nd November Steam Only LMS Theme Day
Sunday 23rd November DMU Blue Timetable
Saturday 29th November to Wednesday 24th December Various Santa Specials, Two Santa Trains, top and tail Steam (North End), Diesel (South) plus DMU shuttles. Traction to be drawn from 31466, 33109, 37418 and 50015. More specific details to follow. Please note, limited public travel is available at the Steam end of the trains.
* to be confirmed subject to availability.

Driver Experience and special trains
Shown in brackets and/or italic text. These trains are included for information only, it is not possible to travel on these unless you are a participant, invited guest or ticket holder for that service. See the Driver Experience page for more about booking a course yourself!

All advertised workings are subject to availability
While every effort will be made to ensure the rostered locos or units are available and running to the advertised timetable, the ELR reserves the right to cancel or terminate any service or use alternative motive power without prior notice.


Details of all services are available at the East Lancashire Railway Website
ELR Gradient Profile
The East Lancashire Railway has some substantial gradients, the PDF Gradient Profile document details these and mileage info. Click the image below to view or download.

Learn more about the ELR route and operations at the About The Line page.


ELRPS Membership includes discounted travel, well worth a look if you're a frequent visitor, especially for standard weekend running days. Click the logo above for details.
Friday Evening, 7th of November Diesel Diner with D9009
Saturday 8th November Eastern Region Diesel Theme Day
2015
Saturday 10th January Diesel Theme Day
Friday Evening 6th March Diesel Diner
Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th March Spring Diesel Gala
Saturday 14th March DMU Running Day
Friday Evening 3rd July Diesel Diner
Friday 3rd to Sunday 5th July Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday Evening 26th September Diesel Diner
Saturday 26th and Sunday 27th September Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 7th November Diesel Theme Day

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and some Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Hallowe'en Ghost Trains Thursday 30th October to Saturday 1st November
Diesel Diner with D9009 Friday Evening, 7th of November
Eastern Region Diesel Day Saturday 8th November
LMS Theme Day Saturday 22nd November
Santa Special Trains Saturday 29th November to Wednesday 24th December
2015
Diesel Theme Day Saturday 10th January
Winter Steam Gala Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th January
Steam Weekend and Transport Collectors Fair Saturday 21st and Sunday 22nd February
Diesel Diner Friday Evening 6th March
Spring Diesel Gala Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th March
DMU Running Day Saturday 14th March
Local Resident's Weekend Saturday 21st and Sunday 22nd March
Ramsbottom Chocolate Festival Saturday 28th and Sunday 29th March
Classic Bike Rally Saturday 4th April
Easter Bonnet Day Sunday 5th April
Day out with Thomas Saturday 2nd to Monday 4th May
1940s Weekend Saturday 23rd to Monday 25th May
Diesel Diner Friday Evening 3rd July
Summer Diesel Gala Friday 3rd to Sunday 5th July
Raise the Roof (Live Music) Friday 17th and Saturday 18th July
Day out with Thomas Saturday 1st and Sunday 2nd August
Teddy Bears Party Monday 31st August
Vintage Transport Gathering and Collectors Fair Saturday 12th and Sunday 13th September
Diesel Diner Saturday Evening 26th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 26th and Sunday 27th September
Day out with Thomas Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th October
Autumn Steam Gala Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th October
Hallowe'en Ghost Trains Thursday 29th to Saturday 31st October
Diesel Theme Day Saturday 7th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!