D200 will now be joining the 40s@60 Event. Although not a runner it will be on display and may have a run out with classmates. Friday 13th to Sunday 15th April, see the ELR Website for more details.

Roster Update: 50015 will now run on Saturday 17th March with 40106 on test during the day. If successful, 40106 may then run on Sunday 18th March as originally booked or 50015 otherwise.

See the Locomotive Roster for all booked traction for this year.

Follow ELR:DG on Twitter! .. @elrdiesel for exclusive gen, post your photos, video links and comments too!

Dates Loco(s)
Saturday 17th March 50015*
Sunday 18th March 40106* or 50015
Saturday 24th March 50015
Sunday 25th March 50015
(Monday 26th March) (50015)
Thursday 29th and
Friday 30th March
Tornado Event inc 33109

See the Roster Page for more
including timetable links

Drive one of our ex-British Railways mainline locos from the ELR fleet. Freight and passenger courses are available.

Have a go yourself or buy as a special Birthday gift .. more details »

2018 diesel event dates
Friday 13th, Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th April 40s@60 Diamond Anniversary of the English Electric Type 4s
Friday 6th, Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th July Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday 22nd and
Sunday 23rd September
Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th November DMU Railcar Weekend

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Tornado at the ELR plus Scotsman on Show (Bury) Thursday 29th March to Monday 2nd April
Classic Bike Rally Sunday 1st April
40s@60 English Electric Type 4 Diamond Anniversary Friday 13th, Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th April
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 5th to Monday 7th May
Scotsman in Steam Saturday 12th and Sunday 13th May
1940s Weekend Saturday 26th to Monday 28th May
Race the Train Sunday 10th June
Bus Gathering
and Collectors' Fair
Saturday 16th and Sunday 17th June
Summer Diesel Gala Friday 6th to Sunday 8th July
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 4th and Sunday 5th August
Sci-Fi Weekend Saturday 18th and Sunday 19th August
Scotsman in Steam Friday 24th to Monday 27th August
Scotsman in Steam Wednesday 5th to Saturday 8th September
ELR Beer Festival plus Scotsman on Show (Sun 9th) Friday 7th to Sunday 9th September
Vintage Vehicle Gathering plus Scotsman on Show Sunday 9th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 22nd and Sunday 23rd September
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th October
Autumn Steam Gala Friday 19th to Sunday 21st October
Hallowe'en Specials Thursday 25th, Friday 26th, Saturday 27th and Wednesday 31st October
DMU Gala Weekend Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th November

Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!