24/06/2016
Roster Updates: 40135 now running 2nd July, 45108 running both 16th and 17th July (replaces D8110). Please check the Roster Page for the latest details. August Peppa Pig & George event now also listed.

56006 and 56301 are now confirmed as the final visitors for the Summer Diesel Gala weekend, Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th of July. The two 'Grids' join Class 31, 5580 (31162), Class 45, 45108 and Class 46, D182 (46045).

The basic Event Timetable is now online to view or download. Further details regarding ELR based locos and roster timetable will follow soon!

Follow us on Twitter! .. @elrdiesel for exclusive gen, post your photos, video links and comments too!


Dates Loco(s)
(Thursday 30th June 40106)
Saturday 2nd July 40135
Sunday 3rd July 37109
Friday 8th July
to Sunday 10th July
Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday 16th July 45108
Sunday 17th July 45108
(Wednesday 13th July D832)
Saturday 23rd July D832

For the full roster list and
PDF timetables click here

Drive one of our ex-British Railways mainline locos from the ELR fleet. Freight and passenger courses are available.

Have a go yourself or buy as a special Birthday gift .. more details »


Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th July Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday 24th and Sunday 25th September Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 5th November DMU Theme Day

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and some Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Saddleworth Morris Men Saturday 25th June
Summer Diesel Gala Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th July
Raise The Roof - Live Music Friday 15th, Saturday 16th and Sunday 17th July
Pirate Adventure Fun Day Thursday 4th August
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th August
Princess Adventure Fun Day Thursday 11th August
Pirate Adventure Fun Day Thursday 18th August
Princess Adventure Fun Day Thursday 25th August
Peppa Pig and George Saturday 27th to Monday 29th August
Vintage Transport Gathering Sunday 18th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 24th and Sunday 25th September
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 1st and Sunday 2nd October
Flying Scotsman Returns Thursday 13th to Sunday 16th October
Hallowe'en Ghost Trains Thursday 27th to Saturday 29th October
DMU Theme Day Saturday 5th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!