24/07/2017
D7629 and 56006 are staying on at Bury for the time being and have been allocated running days in the latest Roster Updates for August and September.

Thanks to all who came and supported the Summer Diesel Gala at the weekend, what a cracker it was!

We're especially grateful to Colas Rail plus all the visiting loco groups and crews for making the weekend a great success and of course to the ELR volunteers and staff who make it all possible. Cheers all!

Share your Gala experience, photos and video links via Twitter using the #ELRJuly17 tag!

Follow ELR:DG on Twitter! .. @elrdiesel for exclusive gen, post your photos, video links and comments too!


Dates Loco(s)
Wednesday 26th July DMU
Thursday 27th July DMU
Friday 28th July DMU
Saturday 29th July D9537
Sunday 30th July 37109
Wednesday 2nd August DMU
Thursday 3rd August DMU
Friday 4th August DMU
Saturday 5th and
Sunday 6th August
Thomas inc Class 40

See the Roster Page for more
including timetable links

Drive one of our ex-British Railways mainline locos from the ELR fleet. Freight and passenger courses are available.

Have a go yourself or buy as a special Birthday gift .. more details »


2017 Season diesel event dates
Saturday 23rd and Sunday 24th September Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 4th and Sunday 5th November Railcar Association DMU Gala

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and some Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Princess Adventure Fun Day Thursday 27th July
The Pirate Express Thursday 3rd August
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 5th and Sunday 6th August
School of Wizardry Thursday 10th August
Princess Adventure Fun Day Thursday 17th August
The Pirate Express Thursday 24th August
Family Fun Days Saturday 26th, Sunday 27th and Monday 28th August
School of Wizardry Thursday 31st August
ELR Beer and Cider Festival Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th September
Vintage Transport Gathering Sunday 10th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 23rd and Sunday 24th September
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th October
Autumn Steam Gala Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th October
School of Wizardry Thursday 26th October
Hallowe'en Ghost Trains Thursday 26th, Friday 27th and Saturday 28th October
Railcar Association
DMU Gala and Convention
Saturday 4th and Sunday 5th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 18th and Sunday 19th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!