25/04/2016
The countdown has begun for the Summer Diesel Gala weekend, Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th of July.

Details of the visiting locos will be announced soon and of course this year's event will be a celebration as D832 Onslaught returns home to the ELR.

Thanks to everyone who came along to the Small Engines Weekend. The roster timetable (plus additional alterations for Sunday) will remain online for the next few days.

Follow us on Twitter! .. @elrdiesel for exclusive gen, post your photos, video links and comments too!


Dates Loco(s)
Saturday 30th April to
Monday 2nd May
Thomas inc D335
Saturday 7th May D9531
Sunday 8th May D9537
Saturday 14th May D7076
Sunday 15th May D7076
Saturday 21st May 37109
Sunday 22nd May D335
Saturday 28th to
Monday 30th May
1940s Weekend

For the full roster list and
PDF timetables click here

Drive one of our ex-British Railways mainline locos from the ELR fleet. Freight and passenger courses are available.

Have a go yourself or buy as a special Birthday gift .. more details »


Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th July Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday 24th and Sunday 25th September Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 5th November DMU Theme Day

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and some Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 30th April to Monday 2nd May
1940s Weekend Saturday 28th to Monday 30th May
Summer Diesel Gala Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th July
Raise The Roof - Live Music Friday 15th, Saturday 16th and Sunday 17th July
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th August
Peppa Pig and George Saturday 27th to Monday 29th August
Vintage Transport Gathering Sunday 18th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 24th and Sunday 25th September
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 1st and Sunday 2nd October
Autumn Steam Gala Friday 14th to Sunday 16th October
Hallowe'en Ghost Trains Thursday 27th to Saturday 29th October
DMU Theme Day Saturday 5th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!