26/03/2017
Great to see 40106 in action with steam heat this weekend. A shame the weather was so nice in some ways! Please consider joining the CFPS if you haven't already or simply make a donation to keep all three Class 40s going!

Roster Updates: Further changes have been made to the Loco Roster and in particular some of these relate to turns previously allocated for D7076 and D832. Both locos should feature at the July and Autumn Galas plus D7076 has gained some more turns in July, August and September. Full details here.

Follow us on Twitter! .. @elrdiesel for exclusive gen, post your photos, video links and comments too!


Dates Loco(s)
(Monday 27th March) (45108)
Saturday 1st April 45108
Sunday 2nd April 45108
(Friday 7th April) (40106)
Saturday 8th April 40106
DMU
Sunday 9th April 40106
Friday 14th April 45108
Saturday 15th April 45108
Sunday 16th April D1501

See the Roster Page for more
including timetable links

Drive one of our ex-British Railways mainline locos from the ELR fleet. Freight and passenger courses are available.

Have a go yourself or buy as a special Birthday gift .. more details »


2017 Season diesel event dates
Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th June Small Engines Weekend
Friday 7th to Sunday 9th July Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday 23rd and Sunday 24th September Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 4th November DMU Theme Day

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and some Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Sci-Fi on The Sidings Saturday 1st and Sunday 2nd April
Princess Adventure Fun Day Thursday 13th April
Classic Bike Rally Sunday 16th April
Alice in Wonderland Friday 21st and Saturday 22nd April
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 29th, Sunday 30th April and Monday 1st May
Alice in Wonderland Friday 5th and Saturday 6th May
1940's Weekend Saturday 27th, Sunday 28th and Monday 29th May
Small Engines Weekend Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th June
Race the Train Sunday 25th June
Summer Diesel Gala Friday 7th, Saturday 8th and Sunday 9th July
Raise The Roof 6 Friday 14th and Saturday 15th July
Princess Adventure Fun Day Thursday 27th July
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 5th and Sunday 6th August
Princess Adventure Fun Day Thursday 17th August
Jungle Book Fun Days Friday 18th, Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th August
Family Fun Days Saturday 26th, Sunday 27th and Monday 28th August
ELR Beer and Cider Festival Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th September
Vintage Transport Gathering Sunday 17th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 23rd and Sunday 24th September
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th October
Autumn Steam Gala Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th October
Hallowe'en Ghost Trains Thursday 26th, Friday 27th and Saturday 28th October
DMU Theme Day Saturday 4th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!