03/02/2016
The Spring Diesel Gala loco list has now been added with Class 47, D1501, to be resurrected for the event. The basic timetable is also online, full roster version to follow soon via the usual channels!

Services over the next 2 weekends will be between Bury and Rawtenstall only. The Broadfield Section is closed for track renewal approaching Heywood. See the Loco Roster page for interim timetable.

Footplate Experience, Diesel Event and general ELR Event dates for 2016 are also online.

Follow us on Twitter! .. @elrdiesel for exclusive gen, post your photos, video links and comments too!


Dates Loco(s)
Saturday 6th February 50015
Sunday 7th February 50015
Saturday 13th February 33109
Sunday 14th February 33109
(Friday 19th February 50015
Saturday 20th and
Sunday 21st February
Spring Diesel Gala
Saturday 27th February 31466
Sunday 28th February 31466

For the full roster list and
PDF timetables click here

Drive one of our ex-British Railways mainline locos from the ELR fleet. Freight and passenger courses are available.

Have a go yourself or buy as a special Birthday gift .. more details »


Saturday 20th and Sunday 21st February Spring Diesel Gala
Saturday 16th and Sunday 17th April Small Engines Weekend
Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th July Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday 24th and Sunday 25th September Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 5th November DMU Theme Day

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and some Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Spring Diesel Gala Saturday 20th and Sunday 21st February
Residents' Weekend and Volunteer Open Day Saturday 5th and Sunday 6th March
Spring Steam Gala Friday 11th to Sunday 13th March
Classic Bike Rally Sunday 27th March
Easter Bonnet Day Monday 28th March
Pirate Adventure
Family Fun Day
Thursday 31st March
Princess Adventure
Family Fun Day
Thursday 7th April
Sci-Fi Weekend Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th April
Small Engines Weekend Saturday 16th and Sunday 17th April
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 30th April to Monday 2nd May
1940s Weekend Saturday 28th to Monday 30th May
Summer Diesel Gala Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th July
Raise The Roof - Live Music Friday 15th, Saturday 16th and Sunday 17th July
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th August
Peppa Pig and George Saturday 27th to Monday 29th August
Vintage Transport Gathering Sunday 18th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 24th and Sunday 25th September
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 1st and Sunday 2nd October
Autumn Steam Gala Friday 14th to Sunday 16th October
DMU Theme Day Saturday 5th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!