22/07/2016
ELR residents 33109, 40106 and 40135 have all safely arrived in Scotland and will be taking part in the Bo'ness and Kinneil Diesel Gala this weekend. More details at the SRPS Diesel Website

Follow us on Twitter! .. @elrdiesel and please share your photos of the ELR locos on holiday too!

Class 40 Preservation Society MINI-TOUR on 30th September and RAILTOUR on 1st October both with 40145. Book before 31st July at a discount. Booking forms AVAILABLE NOW! Full details from from the CFPS WEBSITE.


Dates Loco(s)
Saturday 23rd July D832
Sunday 24th July D832
Wednesday 27th July DMU
Thursday 28th July DMU
Friday 29th July DMU
Saturday 30th July 31466
Sunday 31st July 37109
Wednesday 3rd August DMU
Thursday 4th August DMU
Friday 5th August DMU

For the full roster list and
PDF timetables click here

Drive one of our ex-British Railways mainline locos from the ELR fleet. Freight and passenger courses are available.

Have a go yourself or buy as a special Birthday gift .. more details »


Saturday 24th and Sunday 25th September Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 5th November DMU Theme Day

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and some Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Pirate Adventure Fun Day Thursday 4th August
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th August
Princess Adventure Fun Day Thursday 11th August
Pirate Adventure Fun Day Thursday 18th August
Princess Adventure Fun Day Thursday 25th August
Peppa Pig and George Saturday 27th to Monday 29th August
Vintage Transport Gathering Sunday 18th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 24th and Sunday 25th September
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 1st and Sunday 2nd October
Flying Scotsman Returns Thursday 13th to Sunday 16th October
Hallowe'en Ghost Trains Thursday 27th to Saturday 29th October
DMU Theme Day Saturday 5th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!