24/04/2015
Drive a diesel from the ELR fleet in 2015, see the Driver Experience page for dates and details ...

Some more Summer Diesel Gala news. DCR will be bringing 20020, 26038 and 37025 from Bo'ness and the DCR loco will also stay for the event. 73001 from Dean Forest also taking part. See the Event Page and Twitter feed for more .. @elrdiesel

The Commemorative Double DVD of the 14s@50 event is available now at Bury Bolton Street and via the ELR Ebay shop, order your copy now!

Follow us on Twitter! .. @elrdiesel for exclusive gen, post your photos, video links and comments too!


Dates Loco(s)
Saturday 25th April 37109
Sunday 26th April 37109
Saturday the 2nd to
Monday the 4th May
Thomas inc 345

The Summer roster is now being finalised, more details to follow soon.

For the full roster list and
PDF timetables click here

Drive one of our ex-British Railways mainline locos from the ELR fleet. Freight and passenger courses are available.

Have a go yourself or buy as a special Birthday gift .. more details »


As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Day out with Thomas Saturday 2nd to Monday 4th May
1940s Weekend Saturday 23rd to Monday 25th May
Peppa Pig and George Saturday 20th and Sunday 21st June
Summer Diesel Gala Friday 3rd to Sunday 5th July
Raise the Roof (Live Music) Friday 17th and Saturday 18th July
Day out with Thomas Saturday 1st and Sunday 2nd August
Peppa Pig and George Saturday 29th to Sunday 31st August
Vintage Transport Gathering and Collectors Fair Saturday 12th and Sunday 13th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 26th and Sunday 27th September
Day out with Thomas Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th October
Autumn Steam Gala Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th October
Hallowe'en Ghost Trains Thursday 29th to Saturday 31st October
Diesel Theme Day Saturday 7th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 21st and Sunday 22nd November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!