19/02/2018
Big thanks to everyone who came along to the Spring Diesel Gala weekend. We hope you had a great weekend and look forward to seeing your photos and videos via the usual channels!

The ELR:DG are most grateful to the volunteers and staff accross the ELR as well as visiting loco crews for making it all possible. Thanks all!

Roster Updates: The Loco Roster has recently been updated. All dates with changes are shown in Bold. Traction shown as TBC will be updated as soon as possible. Troublesome Trucks loco now 09024, was D9531/37. D2062 will assist Thomas at Bury.

Follow ELR:DG on Twitter! .. @elrdiesel for exclusive gen, post your photos, video links and comments too!


Dates Loco(s)
Saturday 24th February 45108
Sunday 25th February 45108
Friday 2nd to Sunday 4th March Spring Steam Gala
Saturday 10th March 33109
Sunday 11th March 33109
Saturday 17th March 40106
Sunday 18th March 40106
Saturday 24th March 50015

See the Roster Page for more
including timetable links

Drive one of our ex-British Railways mainline locos from the ELR fleet. Freight and passenger courses are available.

Have a go yourself or buy as a special Birthday gift .. more details »


2018 diesel event dates
Friday 13th, Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th April 40s@60 Diamond Anniversary of the English Electric Type 4s
Friday 6th, Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th July Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday 22nd and
Sunday 23rd September
Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th November DMU Railcar Weekend

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Steam Gala Weekend Friday 2nd to Sunday 4th March
Resident's Weekend Saturday 10th and Sunday 11th March
Tornado at the ELR Thursday 29th March to Monday 2nd April
40s@60 English Electric Type 4 Diamond Anniversary Friday 13th, Saturday 14th and Sunday 15th April
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 5th to Monday 7th May
1940s Weekend Saturday 26th to Monday 28th May
Race the Train Sunday 10th June
Collector's Fair Saturday 16th and Sunday 17th June
Summer Diesel Gala Friday 6th to Sunday 8th July
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 4th and Sunday 5th August
Sci-Fi Weekend Saturday 18th and Sunday 19th August
ELR Beer Festival Friday 7th to Sunday 9th September
Vintage Vehicle Gathering Sunday 9th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 22nd and Sunday 23rd September
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th October
Autumn Steam Gala Friday 19th to Sunday 21st October
Hallowe'en Specials Thursday 25th, Friday 26th, Saturday 27th and Wednesday 31st October
DMU Gala Weekend Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!