23/04/2018
Roster Updates: We're happy to say 40012 is staying on at Bury for a while and has some running days booked, along with recent arrival 47765. D5054 will likely not be ready until September, apologies for any disappointment but it is important to give the loco due attention. Some days rearranged as a result. More at the Loco Roster page, recent changes are shown with the date in bold type.

A commemorative DVD of the Class 40s@60 event is currently being produced, more details soon! Thanks to all who came along, one of the best events we've ever held!

Follow ELR:DG on Twitter! .. @elrdiesel for exclusive gen, post your photos, video links and comments too!


Dates Loco(s)
Saturday 28th April 45108
Sunday 29th April 45108
(Friday 4th May) (Class 40)
Saturday 5th,
Sunday 6th and
Monday 7th May
Thomas inc Class 40
Saturday 12th May D7629
Sunday 13th May D9537
(Friday 18th May) (37109)

See the Roster Page for more
including timetable links

Drive one of our ex-British Railways mainline locos from the ELR fleet. Freight and passenger courses are available.

Have a go yourself or buy as a special Birthday gift .. more details »


2018 diesel event dates
Friday 6th, Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th July Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday 22nd and
Sunday 23rd September
Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th November DMU Railcar Weekend

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 5th to Monday 7th May
Scotsman in Steam Saturday 12th and Sunday 13th May
1940s Weekend Saturday 26th to Monday 28th May
Race the Train Sunday 10th June
Bus Gathering
and Collectors' Fair
Saturday 16th and Sunday 17th June
Summer Diesel Gala Friday 6th to Sunday 8th July
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 4th and Sunday 5th August
Sci-Fi Weekend Saturday 18th and Sunday 19th August
Scotsman in Steam Friday 24th to Monday 27th August
Scotsman in Steam Wednesday 5th to Saturday 8th September
ELR Beer Festival plus Scotsman on Show (Sun 9th) Friday 7th to Sunday 9th September
Vintage Vehicle Gathering plus Scotsman on Show Sunday 9th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 22nd and Sunday 23rd September
Days Out with Thomas Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th October
Autumn Steam Gala Friday 19th to Sunday 21st October
Hallowe'en Specials Thursday 25th, Friday 26th, Saturday 27th and Wednesday 31st October
DMU Gala Weekend Saturday 3rd and Sunday 4th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!