23/05/2016
Roster Update: Please note changes 19th June, 2nd, 16th, 17th and 30th July plus 14th August. 40106 replaces D335 whilst visiting Class 20, D8110 and Class 45, 45108 have gained a couple of days. Also D832 will work at Thomas 6th and 7th August. See the Roster Page for more

Such a GREAT TURNOUT for newly acquired Class 40, 40106! Please consider joining the CFPS if you haven't already or perhaps make a donation, or both! See WWW.CFPS.CO.UK for more ...

Class 40, D306 also now joins the lineup for the Summer Diesel Gala weekend, alongside Class 45, 45108 and Class 46, D182 and of course this year will be a celebration as D832 Onslaught returns home. Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th of July.


Dates Loco(s)
Saturday 28th to
Monday 30th May
1940s Weekend
Saturday 4th June D7076
Sunday 5th June 37109
Saturday 11th June D9531
Sunday 12th June D9537
Saturday 18th June 37109
Sunday 19th June 40106
Saturday 25th June D7076
Sunday 26th June D9531
D9537

For the full roster list and
PDF timetables click here

Drive one of our ex-British Railways mainline locos from the ELR fleet. Freight and passenger courses are available.

Have a go yourself or buy as a special Birthday gift .. more details »


Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th July Summer Diesel Gala
Saturday 24th and Sunday 25th September Autumn Diesel Gala
Saturday 5th November DMU Theme Day

The regular season also features diesel haulage on most Saturdays and some Sundays - check the loco roster page for more information.

As well as the Diesel related events, there are always loads of things going on at the ELR. The Railway operates Diner and Cream Tea Services through the year plus the Rail Ale Trail.

Event Dates
1940s Weekend Saturday 28th to Monday 30th May
Summer Diesel Gala Friday 8th, Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th July
Raise The Roof - Live Music Friday 15th, Saturday 16th and Sunday 17th July
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th August
Peppa Pig and George Saturday 27th to Monday 29th August
Vintage Transport Gathering Sunday 18th September
Autumn Diesel Gala Saturday 24th and Sunday 25th September
Day Out with Thomas Saturday 1st and Sunday 2nd October
Autumn Steam Gala Friday 14th to Sunday 16th October
Hallowe'en Ghost Trains Thursday 27th to Saturday 29th October
DMU Theme Day Saturday 5th November
Lancashire Weekend Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th November


Click on the ELR Totem for full details on these and other events
or follow the East Lancashire Railway on Facebook and Twitter!